New York cab driver saves fortune on toll fees by “piggybacking”

A New York cab driver saved himself $28,000 in toll fees by “piggybacking” on the driver in front of him.

Rodolfo Sanchez is said to have traveled a thousand times over the Robert F. Kennedy Bridge and made three thousand trips through the Queens-Midtown Tunnel…without paying a cent to the toll booths.

Queens prosecutors charged Sanchez, 69, with grand larceny, theft of service and criminal possession of stolen property for a scheme that began in August 2012 and ended Wednesday at 3:40 p.m.

Indeed, Sanchez said he got the idea, according to prosecutors, by watching other drivers doing the same trick: tailgating a car and slipping through the tollbooth before the barrier came back down.

From that point, Mr. Sanchez told investigators, he was “able to cross without making toll payments,” according to the complaint.

The Metropolitan Transportation Authority, which manages both crossings and conducted the investigation into Mr. Sanchez, declined to discuss how many New Yorkers try to beat the toll in this way — the equivalent of squeezing into a subway turnstile with an unsuspecting paying rider.

“We certainly don’t want to encourage people to do this,” said Judie Glave, a spokeswoman for the authority.

A lawyer for Mr. Sanchez did not immediately return a phone message seeking comment.

Sanchez is said to have told investigators: “I needed the money for my family.”

7 Responses to “New York cab driver saves fortune on toll fees by “piggybacking””


  1. 1 who is daniel bryan May 30, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    wonderful submit, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this
    sector do not notice this. You should proceed your writing.
    I am confident, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  2. 2 daniel bryan youth t shirt June 7, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would value your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

  3. 3 wwe authentic t shirts June 7, 2014 at 5:10 pm

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a
    co-worker who has been doing a little homework on this.
    And he actually bought me dinner because I stumbled upon it for him…
    lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU
    for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this subject here on your website.

  4. 4 wwe boys shirts June 29, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    I quite like reading through a post that will make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  5. 5 cm punk t shirt new July 18, 2014 at 11:54 pm

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to
    see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop,
    just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed
    and she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I
    had to share it with someone!

  6. 6 print wwe July 30, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Thankfulness to my father who told me on the topic of this weblog,
    this blog is in fact awesome.

  7. 7 vet office August 4, 2014 at 5:57 am

    I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i am glad reading
    your article. But should remark on few general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really
    great : D. Good job, cheers


Leave a Reply

All the news that's printed to fit from New York's best online information source.

Latest news:

RSS New York Times

RSS NY Daily News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New York Post

  • Jacksonville mayor: ‘Stupid’ not to stand for national anthem September 26, 2017
    JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — A day after more than a dozen players for the Jacksonville, Florida, Jaguars took a knee during the Star Spangled Banner at a London game the mayor of the team’s city said it’s stupid not to stand for the national anthem but protected by the U.S. Constitution. Jacksonville Mayor Lenny Curry, a...

RSS USA Today

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Website redesign by BST Designs

