The photo that touched the hearts of Americans

Image

Dan Farrell with his famous picture and the camera that took it

THE PHOTOGRAPH of a little boy saluting his slain father President JFK’s casket touched the heart of a grieving nation.

It also made Dan Farrell, the man who took it, famous.

Recalls former New York Daily News photographer Farrell: “It was the saddest thing I’ve ever seen in my whole life.

“I knew it was a good picture. This I knew. But I didn’t know to what extent it would be.

“I’m just glad my emotions didn’t take over when I was trying to take the picture.”

0 Responses to “The photo that touched the hearts of Americans”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

All the news that's printed to fit from New York's best online information source.

Latest news:

RSS New York Times

RSS NY Daily News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New York Post

  • I was was an ISIS slave — and now I’m fighting back November 18, 2017
    Nadia Murad grew up dreaming of owning a beauty salon. The youngest of 11 children in a Yazidi family in northwest Iraq, she took photographs of all the brides in her tiny village, studying their makeup and hair. Her favorite was of a brunette woman with curls piled high atop her head. But after ISIS...

RSS USA Today

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Website redesign by BST Designs

