Cooking grease thefts on the up

Enterprising thieves have been stealing cooking grease from New York’s restaurants.

The New York Post reports the theft of used cooking grease from city restaurants has risen in recent years thanks to the demand for “yellow grease” — a valuable ingredient in biodiesel, say eatery owners and licensed oil collectors.

They suspect an organised element creating a black market while others are calling it industrial cooking oil espionage.

And now, some business owners are going after the greasy bandits by hiring private investigators and beefing up security.

Nicknamed “vultures” or “gypsies,” grease thieves are often armed with a hose, a vacuum or souped-up vacuum or lawnmower engine and drain dry massive metal drums loaded with the rancid cooking sludge.

The thieves trawl the streets in unmarked vans and swipe the oil — going for $1 a gallon on the streets– from unsuspecting restaurant workers.

6 Responses to “Cooking grease thefts on the up”


  1. 1 Fred March 28, 2013 at 9:20 am

    I can imagine how you feel. I LOVE my carema now…feel it is another appendage. Once my brother had his video carema stolen out of his van when they were on a trip to California and the insurance DID replace it along with all the other items in their luggage….they gave them a check and HE replaced it, I should say. How can people be so dishonest? I’m so sorry to hear you have been broken into twice. That alone would make me move because I would never feel safe again. My heart-felt sympathy goes out to you….and I pray this will come out in your favor, as it did for my brother, in the long run.

  2. 2 Anna March 28, 2013 at 9:22 am

    Gurrrrrrr I know the feeling. It hurts when you can’t do the one thing that makes you happy.Keep a look out for it on wbseites like Craigs list. A few people have retrieved their stolen items that way.I learned a hard lesson once when I left a bike in my backyard and someone jumped the fence and stole it.It is a pain when you can’t leave anything available to sticky hands.Oh by the way… it is best to take your camera where ever you go (small backpacks are good for that) DO NOT leave it in the car. Thieves are smashing windows and grabbing anything available in some areas now.

  3. 4 Lotta April 14, 2013 at 4:20 am

    That is terrible. I know how you are feeling for I've been in that place myself. Now you have me thinking as I always keep my camera equiptment in a container on the passenger seat. Although it doesn't look like a camera bag or cantains camera gear it may appear a curious thing to a thief. Hmmm…I could throw a ratty old coat I have over it when parked somewhere. A small bit of good from your huge misfortune – it will make us be more cautious. I hope you can replace your camera soon. Maybe a used one for less money?

    affordable auto insurance

    • 5 Michael July 23, 2013 at 3:47 pm

      Hello, I had iGotYa on my device(3gs on 4.3.3) and was haivng unrelated issues with the jailbreak. I decided to re-jailbreak, however as I understand it, and seemingly the case in my situation. iGotYa will not let me do a hard reset or enter DFU mode. Realizing this may be the problem, I uninstalled the application from cydia and tried to continue, however I am still unable to hard reset or enter DFU. Is it possible that a script is left over from the application? I have been searching through the device files using iFile, though with no luck so far.Any response is much appreciated,mr.maps

    • 6 Sidhi October 24, 2013 at 2:18 am

      I always ask first if the bike benolgs to the rider before suggesting that the seat is too low or that the rear wheel needs truing; there’s no point in making those kinds of suggestions to people who are just renting a bike for the afternoon.


Leave a Reply

All the news that's printed to fit from New York's best online information source.

Latest news:

RSS New York Times

RSS NY Daily News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS New York Post

  • This gentle-giant was named the world’s ugliest dog June 24, 2017
    A 125-pound gentle giant named Martha has been crowned the winner of the World’s Ugliest Dog Contest. The gassy Neapolitan Mastiff was a favorite of the Northern California crowd from the start at the Friday night contest, often plopping down on her side on stage. She was rescued when she was nearly blind, but after...

RSS USA Today

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Website redesign by BST Designs

